Principal Investigator

Jiandi Wan

Photo of Jiandi WanDr. Wan received his Ph.D. in Chemistry from Boston University and did his Postdoc training at Harvard University and Princeton University. His current research interests include cerebral micro-circulation, organ-on-a-chip and microfluidics.

Affiliation: University of Rochester Medical Center; Center for Neuroscience at UC Davis

Office: Bainer Hall, Room 3094


Phone: 530 754 0895


Sitong Zhou

Sitou ZhouSitong Zhou graduated from Wuhan University (Hubei, China) with the degree of Bachelor of Science in Applied Chemistry and worked as the Research Assistant in Institute of Polymer Chemistry and Physics at Tsinghua University (Beijing, China). During her PhD work at Rochester Institute of Technology and School of Medicine and Dentistry at University of Rochester (Research Intern), she studied dynamics of red blood cells in capillary and cerebral neurovascular coupling using ex vivo microfluidic approaches and in vivo multi-photon microscopy. 


Doctoral students

Hing Jii Mea 

Photo of TobyHing Jii Mea (a.k.a Toby) received his B.S. from Messiah College in Pennsylvania and completed two years of a PhD program in Rochester, NY. His research interests include tissue engineering, stem cell biology, biomaterials and rapid prototyping. Currently, his research is focused on studying intestinal stem cell behavior and the development of an in vitro intestinal epithelium by combining microfluidic and 3D printing approaches.


Meghann Ma

Photo of Meghann MaMeghann Ma received her B.S. from University of California, Riverside. She is interested in using fluid dynamics to tackle issues in energy storage. Her current research focuses on dendrite suppression in lithium metal batteries using microfluidics. 



Yunju Chang

Photo of Yunju ChangYunju Chang is in materials science and engineering department. She received her B.S. from SungKyunKwan University in South Korea and M.S. from University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign. Her research interest includes biomaterials and biosensors. Her current research focuses on developing integrated imaging system which consists of microfluidics channel and photonics resonators for detecting protein interactions. 


Hansol Ku 

Hansol KuHansol Ku received his B.S. and M.S. in Electrical and Computer Engineering from University of Seoul in South Korea. Hansol joined Dr. Jiandi Wan's group as a Ph.D. student in 2019. His research interest includes biomedical devices and biosensors. His current research focuses on developing ultra sensitive sensor for detecting pressure change in human body.



Yaojun Guo 

Hansol KuYaojun Guo received her B.S. from Beihang University in Opto-Electrical Engineering. Her research interest includes developing an ultra-sensitive pressure sensor for an organ on a chip.




Brianna Urbina

Brianna UrbinaBrianna Urbina received her B.S. in Biological Sciences with a concentration in Systems Physiology from San Jose State University. Her research interests include cerebral microcirculation, tissue engineering and protein synthesis. Her previous research experience is on behavioral genetics and molecular biology. 



 Kevin Kramer


Kevin Kramer received his B.S. and M.S. from the University of Michigan in Biomedical Engineering. His research interest includes tissue engineering and biomaterial drug delivery systems. Currently, his research focuses on studying postsynaptic density phase separation and neurovascular coupling.



Masters students


Undergraduate Students

Kyla Leacox                                                                                         


 Said Al Muzahimi      

Said Al Muzahimi 

 Matthew Sujanto

Matthew Sujanto


Previous visiting scholars

Visiting scholars

Dr. Han Ge, visiting professor, Zhejiang University, China.

Dr. Haosheng Chen, visiting professor, TsingHua University, China.

Dr. Jiang Li, visiting professor, University of Science and Technology Beijing, China

Yixuang Wang, visiting student, University of Science and Technology Beijing, China

Yuanyuan Chen, visiting student, TsingHua University, China.

Previous lab members


Dr. Scott Christensen

PhD students

Rong Fan (graduated in August, 2017)  (Winner of the “Rochester Area Colleges Outstanding Adult Student Award”)

Sitong Zhou (Winner of the 2017 University Technology Showcase Best Poster Award)

Xinye Chen

Master students

Yuting Zhou

Prathamesh Panchal

Kartik Veerepalli

Tianyi Lu

Marine Piou

Yihuang Sun

Undergraduate students

Emily Quan; Gopika Prabhu; Emily Holz; Benjamin Boseck; Ashlynn Palmitesso; Christine Zhou; Kubra Naqvi; Caroline Kruse; King David Lawrence; Kathryn Cyr; James DeCourcey (Winner of RIT Excellence in Student Life Award); Travis Emery; Evan Darling; Michael Gianetto; Hetince Zhao (University of Rochester); Michele Counts (University of Rochester); Shawn Moore (REU); David Custer (REU); Peter Swovick (REU); Sophia Rogalskyj (REU); Jason Sheng Ryong Lim; Stephanie Boula; Nicholas DaCosta

High school students

Krishna Patel; Jack Smith